• Jamie Durie OAM

    International award winning designer & author Jamie Durie OAM started his design practice 16 years ago in 1998. Since then he & his team at Durie Design have received over 33 international design awards with his latest design accolade received in May 2014 when he was awarded the New York Design Award for his interior dining chair titled, The Tubular Chair. The Bungalow Armchair in hand woven leather was also a finalist. Jamie splits his time between design studios in Sydney and Los Angeles, and has worked on many Hotels, Resorts and commercial projects over the last 15 years spanning 17 countries.
    Although the practice started in the field of landscape architecture, Durie Design has evolved today into a multidisciplinary design practice in areas of architecture, interior architecture, landscape, & his greatest passion, furniture design. Durie’s first furniture collection was designed & created over a decade ago in 2003 & has since retailed in over 200 department stores throughout Australia. It continues to sell today in over 12 countries with his latest collection for renowned Milan-based Italian furniture manufacturer RIVA1920 launching in 2013. Since then the collection has doubled with the Elle Ecrit Desk being commissioned by all RIVA1920 USA retail outlets.
    Jamie is a committed environmentalist working with numerous organisations dedicated to conservation. In honour of his work over the last two decades, Jamie was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2013 for services to the environment & design, while in 2004, he received the Centenary Medal for services to the environment, television, & the community.
    Jamie has supported the Foundation from its establishment in 2007 and has played a significant role hosting the Sydney Chocolate Ball every year.

  • Luke Mangan

    Luke Mangan is a leading Australian restaurateur and chef, whose influence on the food and wine industry can been found across five countries, 17 different restaurants as well in the air on Virgin Australia Business Class and at sea, on board five P&O cruise ships.
    Internationally regarded as a leading example of Australia’s culinary culture, Luke’s restaurants range from casual to fine dining establishments and share a consistent philosophy of showcasing the relationship between Australia’s finest ingredients in a clean and contemporary manner. As co-founder of Australia’s largest hospitality awards program, the Appetite for Excellence program, Luke is also extremely passionate about promoting and enabling the development of young chefs, waiters and restaurateurs in Australia.
    From a family of seven boys who grew up in Melbourne, today Luke resides in Sydney yet is constantly found travelling to visit his restaurants, staff and customers from around the world.

  • Justin Reid

    Justin is a Patron of FSHD Global. Diagnosed with FSHD at age 12, Justin has an incredible outlook on life, despite the complexities of living with FSHD. He sends a positive message that anyone can achieve great things in life if they can learn to overcome their doubts and fears.

  • Professor John Rasko AO Patron of Science

    Professor Rasko is an Australian pioneer in the application of adult stem cells and genetic therapy. He directs the Department of Cell and Molecular Therapies at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and heads the Gene and Stem Cell Therapy Program at the Centenary Institute, University of Sydney.

    John Rasko is a clinical hematologist, pathologist and scientist with a productive track record in gene and stem cell therapy, experimental haematology and molecular biology. In over 150 publications he has contributed to the understanding of stem cells and haemopoiesis, gene transfer technologies, oncogenesis, human aminoacidurias and non-coding RNAs.

    He serves on Hospital, state and national bodies including Chair of GTTAC, Office of the Gene Technology Regulator – responsible for regulating all genetically-modified organisms in Australia – and Chair of the Advisory Committee on Biologicals, Therapeutic Goods Administration. Contributions to scientific organisations include co-founding (2000) and past-President (2003-5) of the Australasian Gene Therapy Society; Vice President, International Society for Cellular Therapy, Australia/New Zealand (2008-12) and established ISCT-Australia; Scientific Advisory Committees and Board member for philanthropic foundations; and several Human Research Ethics Committees. He is a founding Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. He is the recipient of national (RCPA, RACP, ASBMB) and international awards in recognition of his commitment to excellence in medical research, including appointment as an Officer of the Order of Australia.